Week 1 of going No ‘poo

For my first week of going no ‘poo (not using shampoo) I’ve kept a blog. To illustrate what I’ve been using before this experiment and what I’ll be using from now on when it comes to products, I’ve made a little “Before and After” picture:

Image

Before I was using: Shampoo, conditioner, Bio Silk, deodorant, toothbrush, toothpaste, floss, skin cream, tea tree oil, oil against pimples, foundation, concealer, eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara, blush, eyebrow pencil, brush, blow dryer, straightener.

After, so for this experiment, I’ll be using: Baking soda, apple cider vinegar, deodorant, toothbrush, toothpaste, floss, a natural skin cream, tea tree oil, oil against pimples, eyeliner, mascara, eyebrow pencil, brush (the make-up I don’t wear every day).

Monday, 23-04-2012

Today is the day. The last time I will wash my hair with regular shampoo, conditioner and blow dry it when I’m done. Shall I miss it, the smell of fruit and flowers, the bubbles? I don’t know, I doubt it… Washing my hair every day using the routine I’m used to was taking up way more time than I like. Using shampoo, using conditioner, towel dry my hair, put something against the heat of the blow dryer into my hair, blow dry my hair, straighten it… It took forever. Those times are gone now!

Tuesday, 24-04-2012

I’m definitely not used to not washing my hair every day. My hair always gets greasy when I don’t wash it daily with shampoo. Of course I know that’s because my scalp gets stripped every day from it’s natural oils, producing new oils again, making it greasy. And even with that knowledge I still continued my routine. Why? Because it’s something I’ve done for years, got used to and I would feel dirty if I wouldn’t follow through with my routine every day.

So on this first day without shampoo I’ve decided to only use water to clean my hair. It was OK, my hair felt a bit stiff and after it dried the hair was still a bit greasy at the roots and at the back. But well, for hair that’s used to be washed with shampoo every day, I’m pretty pleased with the results of only using water.

Wednesday, 25-04-2012

Today I just let my hair be whatever it wants to be. There is nothing I have to go to, today is my lazy day. My hair looks OK, just a bit greasy, but not that bad actually.

Thursday, 26-04-2012

Today is the first day I’ve washed my hair with baking soda and apple cider vinegar. I saw online that those were the two things to replace the shampoo and conditioner with.

I was very pleased with the way it turned out. My hair was soft, not greasy and after it dried it was full, shiny and with more curls I’ve ever had before (for the record, my natural hair has some kind of wave in it).

Friday, 27-04-2012

Because I’ve slept on my hair, the curls got a bit less curly. So this morning I just made it a bit damp with a spray bottle and the curls got back again. My hair was not greasy. I went to the hairdresser, asked her to just cut the split ends and not wash my hair, so now I have a clean slate for this experiment.

Saturday, 28-04-2012

Just washed my hair with water and some apple cider vinegar for the ends. I had to blow dry my hair today, which is against my rules for this experiment, because I had to arrive an hour earlier at the airport than was planned. So I blow dried it a bit and put my helmet on (I drive a scooter) and I can tell: damp hair and a helmet is not a good combination. My hair got a bit of a weird wave to it and at the end of the day it was a bit greasy and blah.

Sunday, 29-04-2012

Tried using only baking soda today, so without the apple cider vinegar. At first, I thought it wasn’t a good idea. My hair was stiff as a board when I came out of the shower. After I combed my hair, which I usually never do with wet hair, it felt a lot better already. Ones the hair was completely dry it felt like a bundle of straw … So I brushed it, and despite the hair feeling a bit stiff now, it doesn’t look greasy and it has very nice curls.

Image

My hair on Sunday, 29-04-2012. Don’t mind the face please, it’s very hard to take your own picture.

3 thoughts on “Week 1 of going No ‘poo

  1. Wow, I didn’t know you could use baking soda, too.
    I replaced shampoo with clay powder a while ago, works just as fine and I spend much less time trying to get unruly curls in line…

    • I didn’t know you could use clay powder! Where do you get that and how do you use it? I would like to try it, to compare to the baking soda.

      • I buy it in packs of 1kg in a local health store or at Amazon; for testing, they have smaller packages, too. You mix a spoonful (give or take, depends on how long and thick your hair is) with water, apply it to your hair, working from close to the scalp to the ends, leave it in for a few minutes and rinse. It took a while until it could stop using shampoo altogether, I had the same problem as you; wash everyday or look like I didn’t wash it in a week. But if you started already with the baking soda, you should be okay switching from one to the other. I made it from washing every day to washing two or three times a week. I love that stuff.

So, what do you think?

