The minimalistic shoe

Without knowing, I’ve been using minimalistic shoes! Apparently I was “trendy” way before I even noticed. That’s new to me, because I’m about the most less trendy person alive. I mean, I do pay attention to what I’m wearing, making sure everything is clean, has no holes in it and doesn’t makes me look like a clown. But there’s no way on earth that I’m going to wear something I don’t feel comfortable in. I used to do that though. There was a time I was putting on real tight clothes, high heels, unpractical bags, jackets that made me turn into an ice cube, earrings that made my head so heavy I was about to have a headache … And to be honest, it made me feel even more insecure than I already was.

So at a certain point I just stopped wearing what, I thought, people were expecting me to wear. I got a nice backpack to replace the unpractical handbags, got a pair of comfortable dressing shoes, everyday shoes and walking shoes (which I will talk about later on in this post), some nice and warm sweaters and some plain long sleeved shirts and t-shirts.

I do own some dresses and skirts I really like, and I wear them when I feel like it. My goal of only wearing comfortable clothing is just that: wearing comfortable clothing. But that doesn’t mean I just buy the first comfortable thing I come across. I want to feel good in it, beautiful, confident. So I only get the things that follow those requirements:

  • Comfortable
  • Easy to combine
  • Make me feel good

When I was first starting to read about minimalism and simplifying life, the first thought that was going through my mind was: “Get rid of all those beautiful shoes you’re not wearing.”

I had so many beautiful high heels laying around. Some of them I never even worn or just worn once of twice. They didn’t fit into my 3 requirements:

  • Comfortable: No, not at all. My feet always were hurting after I’d worn high heels.
  • Easy to combine: No, I couldn’t wear them to a casual event. They’re only suitable for a party.
  • Make me feel good: No. They made me insecure, having to think about if I wasn’t looking funny in high heels, having to pay attention to the streets I was walking on, making sure I wasn’t going to walk for too long.

So I’ve sold most of them by now. There are still a few lying around that need to be sold, and I’m going to keep one pair of high heels. If I’m not going to wear that one pair of heels anytime this year, I’m selling those as well.

What kind of shoes do I wear then? Well, I have a grey pair of All Stars I really like. I wear them a lot. But when I was dividing all my shoes into “Keep”, “Maybe” and “Sell”, I came across a pair of shoes I forgot I had. The Vibram FiveFingers® KSO.

  • Comfortable: Yes, most definitely yes! It’s like wearing no shoes at all
  • Easy to combine: Once you get over the funny-looking part, yes.
  • Make me feel good: Yes. It’s like walking barefooted all day long.

What do these shoes look like? Like gloves for your feet. That’s the most easy way to explaining it. Or as Wikipedia would explain it:

Vibram FiveFingers are a type of minimalist shoe manufactured by Vibram, originally marketed as a more “natural” alternative for different outdoors activities (sailing, kayaking, canoeing, and as a camp or after-hike shoe). The footwear is meant to replicate being barefoot and has thin, flexible soles that are contoured to the shape of the human foot, including visible individual sections for the toes.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vibram_FiveFingers

Image

My Vibram FiveFingers® KSO

At first it was a bit hard to get the shoes on, because they have such a precise fitting. But after a while the shoe adapts more to your feet and it gets a lot easier. I haven’t tried anything while wearing them besides walking. But the walking-experience in these shoes was really nice. It was, indeed, like walking barefoot. I had more grip and felt more connected to the ground (does that sound woolly?) Do these shoes make me look like I’ve just escaped from a mental hospital? Umh, yeah, I’m pretty sure they do … My boyfriend, his mother and my parents were laughing out loud when they saw me walking around in my Vibram FiveFingers®. A lady at the supermarket even looked at my shoes rather condescendingly.

There’s just one thing I like a bit less about my Vibram FiveFingers®: it’s around 9 Celsius degrees (48,2 Fahrenheit) and my feet are getting a bit cold when walking outside. There are socks available for the Vibram FiveFingers®, so I might need to try them out.

Do you want to de-clutter your closet but have no idea where to start? Go through your clothes and pick out the items you feel most comfortable, beautiful and relaxed in. Those are the items you most likely really want to keep. Now go through all the other clothes. Make two piles: one of clothes you will be selling/give away/throw away and another pile with clothes you’re not sure about if you want to keep them or not. If you don’t wear the clothes on the maybe-pile in 6 months, get rid of them when the 6 months are over.

So, what do you think?

