I got something to complain about …

… It’s damn hard not to complain! I’ve been posting about me wanting to complain less on May 4th, but ever since then there hasn’t been a day on which I didn’t complain about something. Yesterday, the complaining even went to a whole other level, curse words and everything (although I did find it a bit reasonable, because I almost got hit by a car …). My purple rubber band is switching faster from one wrist to the other than a borderliner is switching moods.

So what are some of the things I complain about? The one I’ve caught myself saying the most was “I’m tired”. And don’t get me started on the things I say when I’m on my scooter, trying to avoid unwary drivers and cyclists. The one thing I find hardest not to complain about is others complain ((autsj, can you say “hypocrite”?), but so far I’d managed to just shut up when someone was complaining.

What’s making it so hard not to complain? I’m pretty sure it’s because it’s a habit. I’m used to complaining. My boyfriend even said that he couldn’t imagine me NOT complaining. Yes, that was a bit painful to hear … I’m used to saying and thinking negative stuff, always taking out my own insecurities on other. I think the key to complaining less is to think positive.

So, how to think more positively?

  • Decide to do your own thinking. Don’t let yourself get sucked down into the negative thinking of someone else. Is someone telling you a rumor or something? Just say you don’t feel like talking behind someones back.
  • Try to come up with ways to turn a negative conversation into a positive conversation.
  • Find out what you complain about the most. Do your complains have something to do with some of your own insecurities? Try to solve them. Thinking positive things about yourself is the first step to be more positive towards others.
  • Is there someone in your life that’s sucking all the energy right out of you, no matter how hard you try to stay positive? Consider to avoid contact with that person, they’re doing you more harm than good.
  • Give someone a compliment when you notice something nice about them. Maybe you see a girl wearing a beautiful necklace. Tell her you like her necklace. Maybe you see someone helping an older person crossing the street. Tell them you think that’s nice. If you find it uncomfortable to make a compliment to strangers, just start with your own friends and family.
  • Each day, write down one (or more of course) positive thing that happened that day.
  • Notice the small things around you. So what it’s a rainy, cold day? Your cute and warm cat is laying on your lap. You got in an argument with a friend, but you did talked about it with him/her and solved it.
  • Try to think of things that may help you with being positive.
  • Don’t feel like you’ve been failing when you complain or being negative. It happens to most of us. Just start over. Think about why you were having a negative thought and focus on being positive again.

Whether you think you can, or you can’t, you’re right

– Henry Ford

 

So, what do you think?

