Week 3 of going No ‘poo

Today is the last day of week 3 of going no ‘poo. But if you would have told me it has been 3 years already since the last time I’d used shampoo, I would believe you too. I’m not missing it at all and it just feels like I’ve never been using shampoo anyway. So here’s a short update about me going no ‘poo:

Monday 07-05-2012

Just used a spray bottle to make my hair damp. My hair was a bit greasy, but it was still OK enough to go out.

Tuesday 08-05-2012

Washed my hair with baking soda and apple cider vinegar. My hair had some beautiful curls in it and was really soft.

Wednesday 09-05-2012

Decided to use clay powder instead of baking soda today. I either did it wrong or it’s just not suitable for my hair, but my hair was dry as straw and frizzy.

Thursday 10-05-2012

Just washed my hair with water only. My hair was still really dry and frizzy, so I decided to do a henna treatment with colorless henna. The henna smells and looks like crap, but it did wonders for my hair! I’ve put it in my hair, put over some foil and a towel and went over to the couch to relax. After 2 hours I went into the shower, rinsed all the henna out of my hair and now my hair is soft and curly again.

Friday 11-05-2012

Made my hair a bit damp with the spray bottle. It looked fine, nothing special, no grease, only a bit frizzy, but still soft.

Saturday 12-05-2012

Washed my hair with water only. It still wasn’t greasy and after my hair dried it was really soft.

Sunday 13-05-2012

Again, washed my hair with only water. It still was looking OK when I woke up, so I didn’t felt the need to wash it with baking soda. My hair is a bit frizzy now, but I think that’s more likely because of the humid weather than because of not using shampoo.

If you’re not sure about going no ‘poo because you’re afraid your hair gets really greasy and horrible, here I have some tips for you:

  • Braid your hair to cover up any greasiness
  • Wear your hair in a ponytail
  • Use a headband to get the hair out of your face and cover up some of the greasiness
  • Put your hair in a bun
  • If everything else fails; wear a hat or beanie or just wash your hair with baking soda
  • And the most important tip: try not to care so much about what others think of you. You’re still pretty, even when you don’t use all kind of hair products

 

9 thoughts on “Week 3 of going No ‘poo

    • I know what you mean. My hair used to get all blah and greasy and stupid if I didn’t washed it every single day. I had really thin, straight hair and when I first started going no ‘poo I was a bit afraid about my hair would turn into greasy strings, just hanging around my face, or not. And I’m happy to say that, after the first few days, my hair looks and feels better than ever! Really, give it a try if you want, you can always go back to using regular shampoo if going no ‘poo turns out to be not your cup of tea.

  1. i would love to have enough courage to get rid of the materialistic things in my life and go natural, do you have any tips?:)xx

    • The first step to courage is facing your fears. For me my biggest fear when I first started to walk on the path to a less materialistic life was that I felt like I actually needed all the stuff I had. I might wanted to wear that dress sometime (even though the price tag had been on it ever since I bought the dress a year ago …) and how on earth could I survive without 30 pair of shoes!? But then I started thinking. I wasn’t afraid I could survive without all that stuff, I was afraid losing my own identity, because I had been connecting my identity to the stuff I owned. So if you start thinking about it, I had no real identity at all. And tada! There was my real fear: facing myself, my true self, without all the fancy stuff. So try to think of why you keep hanging on to certain stuff. Do you hang on to it because YOU really like it? Or do you hang on to it because OTHERS like it or, perhaps, because you think you SHOULD be liking it?
      Some other thing that really helped me out was thinking about whether I could buy something again or not after I would give or throw it away. For example: I gave away all my high heeled boots, because I never wear them and don’t feel good in them. If I ever need high heeled boots ever again, I can just buy them.

      Some more practical tips:
      – Don’t go to the mall when you don’t really need something. You will be tempted to buy all kind of stuff you don’t need.
      – Tell others about your plan to have a less materialistic life. By getting your actions out into the world, the feeling of really living by them grows.
      – Every time you want to buy something, think about it if you really need it or just want it. If you don’t really need it, but you do really want it, put it on a list and after 30 days check if you still want it. You will see you most likely don’t want it anymore.

      If you ever got a question or want some more tips, just let me know!

      • thankyou so much!:) you’ve really inspired me, i’m going to take you’re words on board and try to cut down on materialistic items and just enjoy the natural beauty of life! thankyou again, your blog is amazing:)

  2. Hi!

    I’ve been ‘no poo’ (or very minimal poo) for about 2 years now as part of a general commitment to be a bit more minimalistic and I have to say I love it.

    For me it’s mainly due to the smug feeling I get when I see shampoo commercials telling me I HAVE to use their product or I’ll get dandruff and die lonely…

    I’ve recently been experimenting with some more outlandish formulas for achieving clean hair using common natural ingredients. (Some have been more successful than others…) If you’re interested then please sign up to my mailing list at http://www.naturalshampookits.org.

    I absolutely WILL NOT spam you. It’s a once a week update on my learnings and you can unsubscribe with one click at any time.

    Thanks!

    Rob

  3. Wow I mis-read your post title at first glance!! I have very, very greasy hair so the idea of no ‘poo freaks me out! But over the past couple of months I have stop using heating tools like irons and hairdryers, I have cut our mousse etc and now use very cheap but natural shampoo and conditioner. My hair is in much better condition than before and it looks so much healthier!

    • You’re doing fine! Going no ‘poo isn’t something everyone will like. But stop using heating tools and switching to natural hair products is a wonderful step in the right direction! You can be proud of yourself and I hope you enjoy your healthier hair.

So, what do you think?

