Getting Rapunzel-like hair

Every time I go to the hairdresser, the boyfriend is saying the same thing: “Don’t cut it off, OK?” He loves loves loves long hair, and so do I! But when I’m at the hairdresser, looking at all those cute short hairstyles, I have the tendency to cave in and think: “ Who cares?! My hair will grow back on again.” And so I let it get cut off … and regret it when I come home … I guess that because my hair isn’t that long (just above my shoulders) it’s easier to cut it off. If I would have really long hair it would be a lot harder, I’m pretty sure about that. But I really want long hair, I just never had the patient to let it grow. So boyfriend, this must be your lucky day: I’m finally ready to let my hair grow.

My hair is 31 centimeters long (that’s 12,2 inches). So, how I’m going to get it to grow long(er)?

Step 1: I’ve visited my hairdresser. Yes, I started growing my hair by cutting it off. Not that much, just the split ends, so I have a fresh start to start growing my hair.

Step 2: Resist the temptation of coloring my hair! I’ve colored my hair for years, and stopped doing it a while ago. There is no hair dye in my hair anymore right now, but when I see a picture of a girl with beautiful red hair, I have to hold myself back not to run to the drugstore and get some hair dye.

Step 3: Pick up on the No ‘Poo method again. I was no ‘poo for a long time, but when I went on a long holiday I got lazy and started using regular shampoo again. I also started using regular conditioner again because I wasn’t satisfied with the apple cider vinegar as a conditioner. I will stop using regular conditioner, but instead I’ll be putting some serum in my hair after washing it. Not because my hair is unable to get through with a brush when there isn’t something like a conditioner or serum in it, but just because I like my hair better when there is. Yes, I’m sooo vain …

Step 4: Eat healthy. I know, easier said than done. I’m a huge sugar addict. While writing this, I already ate seven little chocolates. So it’s another lucky day for the boyfriend, because he’s been nagging me for months now to start eating more healthy (and I know, he’s saying it because he cares … and he’s right, I should eat healthier). But what foods while help you grow healthier hair (better hair seems like a good motivation to me for eating healthier :P)? Think about nuts (especially walnuts and almonds) and milk, stuff with vitamin B in it (like bananas, spinach and potatoes) and food with folic acids in them (tomatoes, citrus fruits, beans, lentils and whole grain products). I know fish, meat and poultry are also major sources of B-12, but that’s one step to far for a vegetarian like me. Don’t forget to eat some protein. You can find protein in products like lean meat, eggs and soy products. And if you want to be really sure that you get everything you need: take a multivitamin. Basically it just comes down to: eat enough fresh fruits and vegetables and don’t forget to drink plenty of water. Cliché? Yes. True? Most likely.

Step 5: Don’t go to the hairdresser anymore. Years ago, my hair was the longest and healthiest it had ever been. Back then, I never went to see a hairdresser. Every once in a while, I would just cut off the ends of my hair myself and my hair was looking great. I hate going to the hairdresser: it’s expensive and my hair rarely turns out the way I wanted it to be. So bye bye hairdresser, I’ll just be cutting my hair myself when I think I have to. Really, there’s no use in seeing a hairdresser every six weeks when you want to grow your hair longer. Hair only grows approximately half an inch per month. By cutting your hair every six weeks it will take for ever to grow your hair longer. So, just judge for yourself when you think it’s time to cut your hair. If you notice your hair is getting dry at the ends or the ends are splitting, it might be time to cut them off.

And last but not least: some quick 101’s for getting healthier hair:

  • Don’t use hot water to wash and rinse your hair. Instead, go for cooler water (it doesn’t has to be ice-cold, just don’t use steaming hot water).
  • When you dry your hair, don’t rub it with a towel. It will damage your hair.
  • Never brush wet hair! Because wet hair is stretchier it has a tendency to snap. Use a wide toothed comb instead.
  • Don’t use too much hair products, they will dry out your hair.
  • Let your hair dry naturally when you can. If you do need to use a blow dryer or straightening iron, don’t forget to use a heat protector on your hair.
  • Don’t brush your hair too much. Two times a day is enough.
  • Don’t wash your hair every single day.
  • Sleep on a silk or satin pillowcase–cotton pillowcases make hair look dry; they suck out the moisture and can cause frizz.
  • If you notice your hair is becoming dry, wash it less frequently, so the natural oil balance can be restored.

Don’t get upset when your hair just doesn’t seems to get any longer. Be patient, it takes a while.

8 thoughts on “Getting Rapunzel-like hair

    • Thank you 😀 I know what you mean. When it gets longer I want it short again because it’s easy, but when it’s short I want it long again because I like it so much 😛

  1. Good luck with growing your hair 😀 It’s true, the more products you use the more your hair suffers. Mine grows like mad again since I stopped using shampoo and all that stuff. And I think I’ll try sleeping on a satin pillow case; my hair always looks a bit frizzy in the morning, so if that really works…

    I’m all for short hair at the moment, though. I had it cut off in spring – sooo much easier to take care of, and whenever my brother’s girlfriend complains about it being too hot (long hair -> neck sauna), I’m truly happy I don’t have to bother with that fur on my had anymore^^

  2. Good luck! I had long hair for a long time, then a month ago I cut it off. It was only to my shoulders but that was shorter then i had ever had it. I was sooo sad, I still am but now i am not cut my hair, am try to get it to grow faster and stronger. Wish me good luck!

    • Hi Livi,

      Been there, done that. Every once in a while I felt like cutting my hair, would go to the hairdresser, got it cut to just below my ears and would feel sad for weeks. So now I only go to the hairdresser if my ends really need trimming (twice a year or so) and I take really good care of my hair.

      I wish you good luck and if you would like to read about a specific subject, let me now 😀

  3. I found your blog through missminimalist and you have a lot of interesting posts! I’m reading through them now 🙂 (and I’ll comment in English instead of Dutch so other people can read it too?)

    I haven’t been to the hairdressers in 15+ years (I cut off the split ends myself), because I’m curious: how long can my hair grow? That’s the reason I’ve never felt the motivation to cut it shorter… I only occasionally change the length/style of my bangs.

    • I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog 😀 And thank you for commenting on my posts in English so other people can understand them as well! 😀

      I also cut my own hair and I’m really curious about my terminal length! What’s the longest your hair has every been so far?

      • If a blog by a Dutch person is in English, I mostly start commenting in English, except if I know the blog owner doesn’t mind Dutch comments. On my blog, people comment in one of the three languages – because my blog is trilingual, I don’t expect everyone to comment in English, and quite a few of my Japanese readers just don’t write English very well. So far, all Dutch readers are also commenting in Dutch – not a problem!

        The longest my hair has been so far, is the length it is now. I have a photo here, but when it’s in a braid it’s shorter. When my hair is loose, I can sit on it (in the front it reaches the middle of my upper legs, in the back it’s just past my buttocks). However, the bottom 10 centimeters are thinner than the rest, so I do think I need to cut it a bit more again. Not in a hurry, though 😛

So, what do you think?

