Getting rid of my sugar addiction

Sugar, I’m truly sorry, but we have to say goodbye. I love you Sugar, perhaps a little bit too much. Our relationship is no longer adding anything to my life. In fact, it’s doing more harm than good. I wish you the best, but I have to go now.

My sugar addiction was getting out of hand. I could easily eat a big bag of M&M’s, a whole bag of cookies and some other stuff in one day. Yes, just one day, every day … I was craving sugar for most of the day and was getting restless if I didn’t had access to it.

Eating too much sugar has been a problem ever since I was a teenager. I would eat bags and bags of sweets in just a few hours. No one would ever suspect me of a sugar addiction, unless they have seen me eaten, because I’m really skinny and I never gain a single pound, despite the amounts of food I’m consuming.

Eating less sugar has never been something I was looking forward to. I love sweets and chocolate and when I feel bad I rather eat a candy bar than an apple or something. I like fruit as well, but somehow candy always was my first choice.

So why quit eating so much sugar when you like it? Because man, I was feeling horrible! I was tired most of the time and only got a temporary sugar rush after eating some candy. Also I’m pretty sure that my mood swings have something to do with the overkill of sugar I take.

Yesterday I mostly ate healthy stuff. I had a nice breakfast, ate some fruit, drank only one soda and a lot of tea and even made myself a salad and some freshly squeezed juice. I did managed to trick myself into thinking it was OK to eat some candy … The addict in me still want sugar.

Today, I’m feeling horrible. I’m so tired and I feel like I’m getting the flu or something. I looked up what the withdrawal symptoms of quitting sugar are, and getting really tired is one of them. So I guess it’s just something I have to get through.

Some other withdrawal symptoms are cravings, anxiety and depression, and a general sense of loss when the addictive substance is not used. I’m looking forward to it … not.

So why stop? Because it’s killing you, slowly, from the inside out. You can get diabetes, heart diseases, you can get fat, get emotional troubles etcetera. Yes, I like sugar. Pff, I LOVE sugar, but the amount of sugar I’m taking will not do me anything good.

I don’t want to scan every label to see if there’s sugar in something, so I’m just going with not buying candy and no sugar in my tea anymore. It seems like not much, but the candy is my main problem. I’m pretty sure it will be a struggle to kick the addiction and replace the candy with some more healthy snacks, but I need to do it.

If you want to get rid of your sugar addiction as well, start now, not tomorrow. If it’s too much for you to go cold turkey, start with small steps, like no more sugar in your coffee, no more soda or, if candy is not that big of a deal for you, no more candy. Eating less sugar will make you healthier and will make you feel better eventually. Eating less is better than not doing anything at all.

11 thoughts on “Getting rid of my sugar addiction

  1. I have the same problem. And have tried so many times. Type II diabetes runs in my family. So you would think it would be easy. But its not! Sugar is addictive. And I think candy companies bank on that!

    • Well, a while ago I was feeling so tired, so I went to the doctor to get my blood tested. I have to say, waiting to hear if anything was going on I might have inflicted on myself wasn’t cool. When I got the results back and everything seemed just fine, it was a big relief. Part of me was like: Oh, nothing is going on, you’re fine, you can continue the way you did before! And I did … and I was still so so tired. So eventually I realized that I had to do something about it. So bye bye candy companies, you are not going to get my money and health anymore 😉

  2. Yup, sugar is toxic and most people overdo it. I’ve been experimenting with Stevia these days. It’s a natural food 200 times sweeter than sugar. It has recently been shown in scientific studies to be safe even for children and diabetics. It may be worth looking into 🙂

    • Hum, that might be worth looking into indeed. I’ve heard about Stevia before, but never took the time to look up some more information. I definitely overdid the sugar intake. Today I’m feeling a bit better than yesterday, a little less tired, and there was no candy bought at the supermarket when I went there today 😀

      • So far, I’ve written two posts featuring stevia and plan to do some more – if you follow the links in these posts you can get a start on some easy info 🙂

  3. This is an interesting article about sugar: http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2013/08/130813111722.htm
    But their measurements are based on “a healthy diet and three cans of soda a day”. In one can of soda, there are 18 cubes of sugar (I think it was the tv-programme Keuringsdienst van Waarden which recently had an item on sugar…).

    I do use regular white sugar, but also cane sugar and honey for sweetening. I make everything myself, so bar the honey, my sugar consumption is already down to around 1 teaspoon of sugar a day (yes, counting the sugar in store-bought food items like chocolate as well!).

    • Well, I think you’re doing really well! 1 teaspoon of sugar a day, including sugar in store-bought food items, doesn’t sound as too much to me! I have this rule for myself: I can eat sweets, as long as I make them myself, and only if they’re vegan and only have natural sugars (like honey, banana, applesauce).

      • By the way, if you have any recipes, I’d like to read them 🙂 My recipes are here. My sister’s boyfriend cannot eat refined sugar and lactose-containing products (allergies), so one of my other sisters also bakes a lot of sugar-free things! Her sugar-free recipes are here (Dutch blog).

So, what do you think?

