It’s my birthday

Today is my 23rd birthday. 23 years of ups and downs, 23 years of hello’s and goodbye’s, 23 years of tears and smiles. It has been a rollercoaster to say the least.

There have been many times in which I’ve been wondering what it all was for, what is the goal, the purpose of life? But don’t we all? I don’t have an answer and I don’t know if I will get one any time soon. But I might not have an answer, it doesn’t mean that I didn’t learn many valuable lessons.

Like that clichés are clichés because they’re usually true. Don’t judge a book by its cover, you never know what someone has been through and/or is going through right now. Money won’t make you happy. I had money and I when I had it, I was more unhappy than I’ve been in many years. Every cloud has a silver lining. No matter how dark times were, there came an end to it eventually.

Some other things I’ve learned, which I value very much, are that some people are toxic, whether they mean to or not. Also, it’s okay to put yourself first sometimes. And one of the most important things; if you don’t believe you can change something in this world, because you think you won’t make a difference, no one will BUT also that you can’t change everything in this world.

Life’s been hard on me and I often wondered why. But over the years I’ve come to realize that life IS hard, life IS unfair and it can make you break down. And that’s okay, as long as you get up again.

I’ve many things to be thankful for; my family, in-laws, boyfriend, friends, my feline friends, the wonderful trips I’ve been on, the many chances I’ve been given and much, much more. Life is a present and I’m happy to have been given it.

IMG_7261-2

2 thoughts on “It’s my birthday

  1. You are so lucky to be on this journey so young in life! I am turning 38 in a few weeks, and I’m starting down the de-cluttering, minimalist, simplicity movement myself. I just want to not feel the heaviness of stuff and shopping and eating to fill up the gaps. Does that make sense?

    Anyway, Happy Birthday….a bit belated!

    MamaP

    • Hello Mama P!

      Thank you for your comment and your birthday wishes. I completely understand what you mean by no longer wanting to carry the weight of shopping and eating to fill up holes. That’s what this journey, to me, is all about. I no longer want to link my happiness to the amount of stuff I own. Keep doing what you do and I’m sure you’ll feel great!

So, what do you think?

