Modern society: What I don’t have and don’t want

Modern society has many benefits which I enjoy, but also many things that stress me out and make me feel uncomfortable. And although I’m really thankful for some things that modern society has brought me, light, heaters, clean water, hot showers, washing machine and a wonderful house, there are also things that I don’t want to be a part of.

Smart phone

  • I used to have a smart phone, but it drove me insane! I don’t like to be “connected” to the world 24/7. I don’t want people to see whether I’m online or not. I don’t want to get meaningless messages that are getting send out of boredom. I could go on, but that would make this a really negative post.

Post-paid mobile service

  • I have a pre-paid mobile phone and never had a post-paid one in my life. I don’t want to pay for something I don’t even use and I like the freedom of pre-paid. When money is a bit tight, I can just choose not to pay for using my mobile phone.

Games (on- and offline)

  • I’m not a big gamer. Darling Boyfriend tried to explain World of Warcraft to me a few times, but it’s just not for me. I do like board games though, but I don’t play them that often.

Creditcard

  • Never had one, and never want one. I don’t need one and I don’t like the concept of it.

Car

  • Cars cost a lot of money and that’s money I rather save or spend on something more useful to me. I use public transportation, my bike and my scooter to get anywhere.

IMG_6929

Our modern society is engaged in polishing and decorating the cage in which man is kept imprisoned.  -Swami Nirmalananda

Of course, there are also modern things I do have and don’t want to get rid of

Laptop

  • I love my laptop! I use it pretty much every day. I use it for fun, but also for administration stuff. I wouldn’t want to go without it.

Internet

  • From my point of view, one of the greatest inventions in years is the Internet. I use it pretty much every day. I really like how I can use it to look up pretty much every thing I want to.

E-reader

  • I love reading, but carrying around books all the time can be a bit hard. I use my E-reader a lot and I consider it to be the best buy I had in many years. For more about my experience with the E-reader, see my blog post: It’s a kind of magic!

Mobile phone

  • I have a very simple mobile phone which I got for free from a friend. I like to have it with me in case of an emergency and to seek out for contact when I’m on the road. I don’t have a landline, so I use my mobile phone to keep in touch with family and friends.

TV

  • I have a small and cheap TV which works great. I rarely watch TV, but I do like to have one in the house to watch the few shows I really like.

Small cable package

  • I have the cheapest cable package available in the Netherlands (besides not having a cable package at all, which, of course, is free). It’s € 12,50 a month (that’s 16,29 USD/10,78 GBP) and it has the 26 most popular channels in it. I love it! I rarely watch TV, so this cable package suits me.

Twitter

  • Well, I don’t have Twitter, but my weblog does. I use it to share new posts with the people who would like to read them.

There are also some other things I don’t have and don’t want, like a big house (I would love to be part of the tiny house movement) and debts (although I don’t think anyone really wants debts), but I wouldn’t call those thing modern (after all, even in the Middle Ages people had big houses and/or debts).

I don’t judge anyone who does have or wants these things. They are just not for me.

5 thoughts on “Modern society: What I don’t have and don’t want

    • I did thought about it. Unfortunately, I rent a house and the rent is including internet connection, but the connection is veeeeeery slow. Getting another internet connection is going to cost me more than my TV subscription 😦

So, what do you think?

